here, chickee chickee!

After a ten month hiatus, I have clawed my way out of the cave and ventured back into the world of blogging. During these long months of inactivity, I’ve managed to study abroad in China, lose two twonails from a bad pair of heels, pull more almost all-nighters than I care to remember, and shake (Sir? Lord? Duke? Master?) Anthony Bourdain’s glorious hand. I’ve been a busy bee, you see.

This semester, I’ve been holed up in an apartment-style suite, complete with a delightfully crusty stove and oven in the kitchen. Having access to a kitchen was probably bad for my food addiction, especially when I decided I wanted to start roasting things. And roast, I did. Asparagus, potatoes, onions — if it sprouted naturally from the ground, I’ve probably nuked it in the oven. One thing that I didn’t get to roast, however, was a whole chicken, something that’s so simple, hearty and delicious. Something that I had absolutely no clue as to where to start. After coming home and stumbling upon 2 cornish hens in my freezer (why my mom had cornish hens in the freezer, I’ll never know) and some sleuthing on the internet, I found a bunch if recipes that I thought would be fun to try.

But of course, when I decided to roast the hens, I ended up not following any of the recipes because a.) I didn’t have half of the ingredients on hand and b.) I’m pretty horrible with exact measurements (unless it has to do with baking, but even then…) Luckily, this little experiment of mine turned out a-okay. Keep in mind that these measurements are rough estimates and that this was my first attempt at flavoring a chicken — definitely a work in progress.

My mom volunteered to clean out the inner goodies because god knows if I did it, I would shoved my hand into the cavity and made a little chicken puppet…

To the left: Roasted lemon garlic poussin
1 lemon
4-5 cloves of garlic, crushed
2-3 tsp garlic powder
2 medium or 1 large Spanish onion, halved and sliced
kosher salt
black pepper
olive oil

Step 1: Preheat oven to 425 F. Grease a baking sheet or a roasting pan and place the hen in center.
Step 2: Drizzle about 3 tbsps of olive oil over each hen, making sure that it’s covered well. Rub each bird down with crushed garlic and then squeeze on the lemon juice.
Step 3: Surround the cornish hen with the onions and drizzle on olive oil. Sprinkle on the garlic powder, salt and pepper.
Step 4: Roast at 425 F for 15 minutes and then turn the heat down to 350 F and roast for another 30 minutes, or until the meat is tender and the juices run clear.

To the right: Roasted honey ginger poussin
4-5 tbsp honey
2-3 tsp ginger, grated
2 cloves of garlic, crushed
1 tbsp pomegranate juice (optional)
1-1.5 tbsp rice vinegar
1 small Spanish onion
1 large or 2 medium sweet potatoes, cubed and unpeeled
kosher salt
black pepper
olive oil

Step 1: Preheat oven to 425 F. Grease a baking sheet or a roasting pan and place the hen in center.
Step 2: Drizzle about 3 tbsps of olive oil over each hen, making sure that it’s covered well. Rub each bird down with crushed garlic.
Step 3: In a separate bowl, whisk together honey, pomegranate juice, rice vinegar, and ginger. Spoon liberally over the hen.
Step 4: Surround the chicken with the cubed sweet potatoes and onions and drizzle on some olive oil. Sprinkle salt and pepper on everything.
Step 5: Roast at 425 F for 15 minutes and then turn the heat down to 350 F and roast for another 30 minutes, or until the meat is tender and the juices run clear.

Fresh from the oven and looking delicious!

Not too shabby, eh?

Leave a Reply

